The Department of Genome Sciences is committed to creating an environment that is welcoming and inclusive. Our goal is to foster a place of learning and working where all members can thrive and where diversity is recognized and celebrated. At Genome Sciences, we aim to create supportive spaces for those who are marginalized in higher education or society. To achieve this, we recognize that it is our ongoing responsibility to understand, acknowledge, and challenge systems of privilege and disadvantage in higher education such as those based on race, color, creed, caste, religion, national origin, citizenship, sex, age, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, disability, veteran status, or socioeconomic status.

Faculty Position Open

UW Genome Sciences has an outstanding opportunity for a full-time faculty position at the rank of ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, tenure-track. The successful candidate will be expected to establish an active research program and engage in teaching and service. This is a 12 month, multi-year appointment with an anticipated start date of September, 2021. Apply on Interfolio:

Upcoming Events

Monday, November 30
Dissertation Defense: Ken Jean-Baptiste
(Queitsch Lab, Ph.D. in Genome Sciences)
“Root Development in Arabidopsis thaliana”
1:00 | remote presentation link | flier

Wednesday, December 2
Combi Seminar: Dr. Alice Berger

“Overcoming paralog redundancy to identify new cancer drug targets”
1:30 | remote presentation link

Wednesday, December 2
Genome Sciences Seminar:
Dr. David Van Valen
“Single-cell Biology in a Software 2.0 World”
3:30 | remote presentation link

For a complete listing of GS events, please see the events calendar.

New Faculty

Genome Sciences is pleased to announce that Dr. Alison Feder has accepted our offer to be an assistant professor and will join the department in 2021. Dr. Feder is currently a Miller Fellow at the University of California, Berkeley. She is a mathematical biologist who studies evolutionary forces that drive rapid adaptation, such as that seen in viruses becoming resistant to drugs.

Genome Sciences is pleased to announce that Dr. Devin Schweppe has accepted our offer to be an assistant professor and has joined our department. Dr. Schweppe comes to Genome Sciences from the lab of Dr. Steven Gygi at Harvard Medical School, where he was a postdoctoral fellow. Dr. Schweppe develops proteomics methods to analyze dynamic cellular signaling networks.

2020 Incoming Class

Introducing the Genome Sciences 2020 incoming class:

Leah Anderson – Ohio State University
Gabrielle Ferra – Brown University
Lincoln Harris – Swarthmore College
Chris Hsu – University of Washington
Aidan Keith – University of Washington
Tony Li – Johns Hopkins University
Chris McGann – Northeastern University
Alexis Neuman – Western Washington University
Luana Paleologu – University of Washington
Taylor Real – UC Santa Cruz
Elena Romero – Harvey Mudd College
Abbey Thorpe – George Washington University
Cassia Wagner – UW MSTP

Department News

Former Shendure Lab member Dr. Junyue Cao is the grand prize winner of the 2020 Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists.
Drs. David Baker, Michael Bamshad, Evan Eichler, Choli Lee, Debbie Nickerson, Bill Noble, Jay Shendure, John Stamatoyannopoulos, and Cole Trapnell have been named on the Highly Cited Researchers 2020 list from Clarivate.
Brain and spine fluid proteomics may hold Alzheimer’s clues
UW Medicine
90 Days on the Front Line: How UW Medicine led the response to the nation’s first COVID-19 outbreak
UW Medicine
NIH-funded center to study nucleome in time and space
UW Medicine Newsroom
The 2020 Parker Travel Award winners for best poster at the 2020 department retreat are Pengyao Jiang and Kyle Hess.
Former Genome Sciences members Dr. Katrina Claw and Dr. Jie Liu have received 2020 Genomic Innovator Awards from the NHGRI.
Nick Popp has been awarded an NRSA Fellowship.
Dr. Mary-Claire King and Dr. Peter Byers have received awards from the ASHG.
Dr. Junhong Choi has been awarded a Damon Runyan Fellowship.
Danielle Faivre and Deanna Plubell have been awarded NRSA Fellowships.
Chengxiang Qiu has been awarded the Bonita and David Brewer Fellowship.
Scanning for answers to a pandemic
GatesNotes: A new surveillance program in Seattle is detecting cases of COVID-19 and helping guide public health responses.
250,000 people now follow this Fred Hutch scientist on Twitter
Dr. Trevor Bedford's research is featured in the Seattle Times.
Dr. PingHsun Hsieh has been awarded a K99 Career Transition Award.
Eliza Barkan has been awarded an NSF Fellowship. Conor Camplisson, Luana Paleologu, and Zorian Thornton have received honorable mention.
Coronavirus May Have Spread in U.S. for Weeks, Gene Sequencing Suggests
Dr. Trevor Bedford's research is featured in the NY Times.
Gesine Cauer and Dr. Andrew Savinov have been awarded NRSA fellowships.
Dr. Jay Shendure has been named The 2020 Leaders in Health Care Gold Award Winner for Achievement in Medical Research by Seattle Business magazine.
GSAIMS has been awarded a Diversity and Inclusion Seed Grant from the University of Washington and is excited for their new upcoming events.
Jimmy Eng has been selected for the 2020 Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award.
Technologies to watch in 2020: Dr. Elhanan Borenstein and former GS grad Dr. Alex Nord are featured in Nature article.
Dr. Harmit Malik and Dr. Ray Monnat have been named AAAS fellows.
Emily Mitchell and Gennifer Merrihew have been awarded lab safety innovation awards from EH&S.
"A lineage-resolved molecular atlas of C. elegans embryogenesis at single-cell resolution", by Jonathan Packer, et al, has been selected as the Editor’s Choice in developmental biology by The Scientist.
Kate Dusenbury and Will DeWitt have been awarded NRSA fellowships from the NIAID.
Dr. Glennis Logsdon has been awarded an NRSA fellowship from the NIH.
Clara Amorosi has been awarded a poster prize at the Pharmacogenomics Research Network poster session at the 2019 ASHG meeting
Dr. Stella Huang and Rebecca Martin have been awarded the Parker Travel Award for best poster at the department retreat.

Introducing the Genome Sciences 2019 incoming graduate class:

Anna Bakhtina, University of Washington
Conor Camplisson, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Madeleine Duran, MIT
Austin Gabel, UW MSTP
Xavi Guitart, Vanderbilt University
Kianna Hales, University of Washington
Morgan Hamm, University of Washington
Lilian Heil, University of North Carolina
Maya Lewinsohn, UW MSTP
Sophie Moggridge, University of Victoria
Sriram Pendyala, UW MSTP
Zorian Thornton, Virginia Tech
Wei Yang, UCLA

Ashley Hall has been awarded an NRSA fellowship from the NIH.

High school intern Jenna Everard took first place in the Bio Expo, lab research category. Jenna was mentored by Brook Nunn, Emma Timmins-Schiffman, and Andy Lin.
Robin Aguilar, Phoebe Parrish, and Sam Smukowski have been awarded NSF fellowships.
Dr. Kelley Harris has been named a Searle Scholar for 2019.

Genome Sciences Travel Award winners
In our first application cycle, the Department has funded travel awards to 3 graduate students – Melissa Chiasson, Claudia Espinoza and Colby Samstag – and one postdoc, Jed Carlson. The awards are funded by income to the Department from endowments established by Genome Sciences faculty and are to encourage professional development.

Dr. Brian Beliveau , Dr. Tera Levin (Malik Lab), and Dr. Alistair Russell (Bloom lab), have been awarded Damon Runyon Dale Frey Awards.
Dr. Jay Shendure has received the 2019 Richard Lounsbery Award from the National Academy of Sciences.